GETTING TO KNOW…..Allison Goldstein

4/13/2020
 

On February 29, Allison Goldstein, 34, (Jersey City, NJ, Distance Project NYC) competed in her first Olympic Trials, finishing 312th in a time of 2:55:09.  While her time was over 10 minutes slower than her career best, Allison's recount of Atlanta (found below) shows us that sometimes times and performances take a back seat to the experiences and memories created through sport.  We took some time last week to ask Allison about all her likes, interests, and more.

Let's GET TO KNOW.....Allison Goldstein.



High School you attended:
Woodland Hills High School, 2004
 
College you attended:
University of Rochester, 2008
 
Major in College:
English and Brain & Cognitive Sciences (double-major)
 
Current Occupation (or part time-job):
Freelance Writer & Editor

Club: 
Distance Project NYC

Tell us about your Olympic Trials experience in Atlanta:
I felt like such a celebrity! Between the special athlete pass and having my name on my bib and so many people there from out of town that I bumped into and saw cheering . . . it was just so special.
 
How did you start running?
It was the cheapest form of exercise when I moved to NYC after college in 2008.

First Marathon?
Pittsburgh Marathon (2009) - 3:20:57
 
What were your best track times in high school?
I didn't run in high school!
 
#1 High School highlight?
Being the editor-in-chief of the literary magazine
 
What were your best track times in college?
I didn't run in college!
 
#1 College highlight?
Being a Writing Fellows tutor
 
#1 professional highlight?
Meeting Scott Douglas on Twitter
 
Something unique about you that we might not know about you?
I've ghostwritten three romance novels
 
Current Coach?
Jason Lakritz
 
Favorite Workout?
Ones that don't include the gym
 
Favorite Place to Train?
Wherever my friends are.
 
Favorite Food?
Cereal
 
Favorite Restaurant?
Marco and Pepe' in Jersey City (RIP)
 
Favorite music?
Michael Jackson
 
Favorite TV Shows?
Friends, House, Modern Family, Orange is the New Black
 
Favorite Author?
Lauren Groff, Wally Lamb, Celest Ng, Toni Morrison, David Sedaris, Barbara Kingsolver, Alex Hutchinson
 
Favorite Book?
Me Talk Pretty One Day, Fates and Furies, Three Women, Americanah, My Absolute Darling, The Power
 
What is your preferred social media? 
Twitter
 
If you could have lunch with one person who would it be? 
My paternal grandfather, whom I never met
 
How about dinner?
President Obama
 
Over the years who have you found to be the best training partner? 
Someone who's reliable and supportive
 
Your Role Model?
Too many to name all of them. My mom is my #1.
 
Favorite Athlete?
Des Linden for being unapologetically who she is
 
What do you foresee yourself doing in 5 years, 10 years, 20 years?
Traveling, reading, writing, running . . . most of the things I try to do now (only probably more slowly).
 

media services by