Cuffee, Tuohy run to 1-2 finish, NJNY TC men second at national club championships


Last Saturday (14-Dec) 102 athletes (and 13 teams) from the New York association competed against the top open and masters athletes at the USATF National Club Cross Country Championships in Bethlehem, PA.  The event was held on the campus of Lehigh University.
A record, 2,002 athletes competed in the championships in five races (Open Women, Open Men, Masters Women, Masters Men 40+, and Masters Men 60+).
The highlights of day for the New York athletes was the 1-2 finish by Aisling Cuffe and Katelyn Tuohy in the open women's race and the runner-up team performance by the Hoka New Jersey New York Track Club in the open men's competition.

Cuffe won the 6 km women's race in 20:07 with Tuohy just 4 seconds back.

The HOKA NJNYTC squad made a rare cross country appearance, finishing second out of 78 teams with 131 points.  The Tinman Elite squad from Colorado won with 25 points.
Other New York highlights included:
  • Open Women - Erin Gregoire (23rd; Brooklyn TC), Katy Kunc (28th; HOKA NJNYTC)), Mary Cain 33rd), and Victoria Kingham (46th; Central Park TC New Balance) finishing in the top 50
  • Open Men - Travis Mahoney (9th; HOKA NJNYTC), Daniel Winn (16th; Brooklyn TC), Isaac Updike (22nd; HOKA NJNYTC), Robert Napolitano (31st; HOKA NJNYTC), and Edward Crawford (40th; HOKA NJNYTC) finishing in the top 50
  • Masters Women - Deborah Barchat (3rd place W70-74; Central Park TC New Balance)
  • Masters Men - Gerry O'Hara (8th place M55-59; Central Park TC New Balance) and Hank Schiffman (5th; M70-74; Central Park TC New Balance)
  • Open Women's Team - Central Park TC New Balance Open Women (9th place out of 48 teams)
  • Open Men's Team - Brooklyn Track Club (24th), Central Park TC New Balance (26th), and Dashing Whippets Running Team (52nd)
  • Masters Men's Team - Central Park TC New Balance (8th place)                  
The complete New York Results Scoreboard (and photo galleries) can be found here.
Next year's championships will be held in San Francisco on December 12.