Wikstrom and Lindo expected to contend for titles at National Junior Olympics in Florida

Entries, Results and more

Seventy-one (71) talented cross country athletes from USATF New York are entered in tomorrow’s USATF National Junior Olympic Cross Country Championships to be held at Apalachee Regional Park in Tallahassee, Florida.  A total of 3,3000 athletes are entered in the 10 races (7-8, 9-10, 11-12, 13-14, 15-18 races for boys and girls will be contested).

Live event coverage will be available starting at 9:00 a.m. ET on USATF.TV+ (subsription required).
Four clubs from New York have entered full teams and will be competing against the best teams from across the country.  The Prospect Park Youth Running Club will compete in the 7-8 girls, 9-10 boys, and 11-12 boys races and the New York Starz have entered a team in the 11-12 girls race.  The top three teams in each division will be recognized at the awards ceremony following each race.
The top 25 finishers in each division will earn a trip to the awards podium to receive a championship medal and an all-American hat.
Expected to compete for top 25 finishes are:

7-8 boys
Wilem Wikstrom  (Unattached)
Giordano Simpson (New York Starz Track)
Sebastien Aubourg  (Prospect Park Youth Running)
Joseph Calabrese  (Unattached)
Jordan Thomas  (Notre Dame Track)
7-8 girls
Noa Yirmiyahu   (Hunter Athletics)
Anaia Jean-Francois  (Prospect Park Youth Running)
Xaera Mehta   (Chelsea Greyhounds)
Keyanna Husbands  (Lightning Striders Track Club)
Malina Rodriguez-King   (Island Express)
9-10 boys
Amos Pres   (Chelsea Greyhounds)
9-10 girls
Brianna Lindo  (New York Novas TC)
Sahar Victoria  (The Camp)
11-12 girls
Juliette Salazar  (New York Starz Track)
Alissa Graham  (Club44)
15-16 boys
Tobias Wolfson   (MHC Track Club)
Nathaniel Oakes (MHC Track Club)
15-16 girls
London Claxton  (Westchester Striders Track & Field)
Abigail Melican   (BENSWIC)
17-18 girls
Lillian Horan  (Prospect Park Youth Running)

A complete list of all New York entries can be found here.
Wikstrom (7-8 boys), Pres (9-10 boys) Lindo (9-10 girls), Salazar (11-12 girls), and Wolfson (15-16 boys) each won the Region 1 races two weeks ago in Rhode Island.  The Prospect Park Youth Running Club 7-8 girls and 11-12 boys won Region 1 titles while the New York Starz finished second; just losing on a tie-breaker (best 5th runner). 
The top finishers from last year’s championships in Alabama, who are entered this year, are Alissa Graham (2nd; 9-10 girls), Brianna Lindo (9th; 9-10 girls) and Wilem Wikstrom (11th; 7-8 boys).  Lindo and Wikstrom remain in the same divisions this year whil Graham has moved up to the 11-12 division.

media services by