2018 Annual Award winners announced along with 2nd class of Officials Hall of Fame inductees


USATF New York will hold its 5th annual USATF New York Awards Banquet on Sunday March 24 at the White Plains Crowne Plaza in White Plains, N.Y.  Being held in conjuction with the banquet is the induction ceremony of the second class into the New York Official's Hall of Fame.
The awards banquet will recognize athletes, administrators, coaches, and officials for their 2018 accomplishments and life-long service and dedication to the sport.  The lists of award recipients are presented below.
The USATF New York Officials Hall of Fame will induct its second class.  The nine officials being inducted are:
Fred Adler
Leon Bailey
Stella Cashman
Joe Caruso
Brent Lee (posthumously)
Dick Mann
Mary Onken 
Allan Steinfeld (posthumously)
Doris Wahl (posthumously)
The 2018 Athletes of the Year who will be recognized for their outstanding performances last year are:
Junior: Audrey Fox (New Rochelle HS)
Open Women: Maria Garcia (Park Racewalkers, USA) 
Open Men: Vyacheslav Troshkin (Park Racewalkers, USA) 
Open Women: Roberta Groner (NYAC)
Open Men: Brendan Martin (NYAC)
Masters Women: Fiona Bayly (Urban Athletics)  
Masters Men: Jonathan Kline (Dashing Whippets Running Team)
Open Women: Ce'Aira Brown (Hoka NJNYTC)
Open Men: Rai Benjamin (Nike) 
Masters Women: Lisa Edwards (unattached) 
Masters Men: Peter Brady (Central Park TC)
Overall Girls: Aisha Wajid (VO2Max TC)
Overall Boys: Wilem Wikstrom (Chelsea Greyhounds)
8 & Under Girls: Saffa Ellis (Prospect Park Youth)
8 & Under Boys: Alexander Riley (VO2Max Track Club)
9-10 Girls: Melanie Romero (Notre Dame TC)
9-10 Boys: Pierce Siegel (Hunter Athletics)
11-12 Girls: Brianna Lindo (New York Novas T.C.)
11-12 Boys: Aaron Keller (Unattached)
13-14 Girls: Juliette Salazar (New York Starz Track Club)
13-14 Boys: Nate Boutin (Prospect Park Youth)
15-16 Girls: Aoife Kenny (Unattached) 
15-16 Boys: Colman Shaver (Chelsea Greyhounds)
17-18 Girls: Abigail Melican (BENSWIC)
17-18 Boys: Nolan Defreitas (New York Starz Track Club)
High School Girls: Katelyn Tuohy North (Rockland HS) 
High School Boys: Behailu Bekele-Arcuri (Warwick Valley HS / eXCelsior Running Club)
Girls Overall - Field Events: Selah Dungey (MySprintClub)
Boys Overall - Field Events: Miguel Negrete (Notre Dame TC)
Girls Overall - Track EventsKcaysha Medas-King (Midas Touch)
Boys Overall - Track EventsShamali Whittle (MySprintClub)
8 & Under GirlsJana Alhagiko (Ocean Breeze Wave Runners)
8 & Under BoysJamel Rankine (New York Novas T.C.)
9-10 GirlsBrianna Burrell (VELOCITY TRACK CLUB NEW YORK)
9-10 BoysAaron Irish-Bramble (Notre Dame TC)
11-12 GirlsAlissa Graham (Club44)
11-12 BoysKyaire Lawson (Ruff Kutz)
13-14 GirlsTori Daniels (New York Novas T.C.)
13-14 BoysMichael Rodriguez-King (Island Express)
15-16 GirlsJannah Sharpe (Eclipse Track & Field)
15-16 BoysRyler Gould (Newburgh Elite)
17-18 GirlsSophia Myers (Ruff Kutz)
17-18 BoysAnthony Harrison (In Motion)
High School GirlsKaeli Thompson (Warwick Valley HS / Hudson Valley Flying Circus)
High School Boys:  Carlon Hosten (Taft Educational Campus / V-Tesse Track Club)
Each year three awards are presented to officials who have served the sport and their communities at the highest level in recent years.  The awards are named after three of the local pioneers in the officials committee - Jake Korn, Warren Ring, and Louis Vazquez, Jr.  Winning the awards this year are Chris Forti (Jake Korn Officials Committee Service Award), Helene Britton (Warren Ring Officials Committee Lifetime Achievement Award), and Zakia Haywood (Louis Vazquez, Jr. Officials Committee Humanitarian Award).
The recipient of this year’s Coaching Lifetime Award is Joe McMahon (Notre Dame Track Club).  McMahon founded the Notre Dame TC in 1989 and has served as its coach for 30 years.

The recipient of the Media Contributor award is Kyle 
Brazeil the longtime editor for Milesplit New York.
Ticket and information about supporting the event can be found here.