4th Annual Awards Banquet & Inaugural Officials Hall of Fame slated for March 18


USATF New York has announced the 4th annual USATF New York Awards Banquet & the Inaugural Officials Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony will take place on Sunday March 18 at the White Plains Crowne Plaza in White Plains, N.Y.
The awards banquet will recognize athletes, administrators, coaches, and officials for 2017 accomplishments and life-long service and dedication to the sport.  The lists of award recipients are presented below.
The newly created USATF New York Officials Hall of Fame will induct its inaugural class.  The ten officials being inducted are affectionally being called the Mount Rushmore of New York officials for their pioneering and tireless service to the sport.  The officials being inducted are:
Frank Bailey (posthumously)
Willie Black Jr. (posthumously)
Marvin Johnson
Jacob Korn (posthumously)
Sue Polansky   
Warren Ring (posthumously)
Helio Rico (posthumously)
Pat Rico (posthumously)
Adam Sanford (posthumously)
Lou Vazquez Jr. (posthumously)
The 2017 Athletes of the Year who will be recognized for their outstanding performances last year are:
Junior: Lucy Vayo
Women: Miranda Melville (NYAC) Open Women
Men: Emmanuel Corvera (NYAC) Open Men
Open Women: Roberta Groner (NYAC)
Open Men: Meb Keflezighi (NYAC)
Masters Women: Fiona Bayly (Urban Athletics NYC)  
Masters Men: Jonathan Kline (Dashing Whippets Running Team)
Open Women: Deajah Stevens (unattached)
Open Men: John Gregorek (NJNYTC) 
Masters Women: Jennifer St. Jean (Central Park TC) 
Masters Men: Peter Brady (Central Park TC)
Overall Girls: Brianna Lindo (New York Novas TC) 
Overall Boys: Wilem Wikstrom (Unattached)
8 & Under Girls: Aisha Wajid (VO2Max TC)
8 & Under Boys: Nuru Jobe (Notre Dame TC)
9-10 Girls: Sahar Victoria (The Camp) 
9-10 Boys: Amos Pres (Chelsea Greyhounds) 
11-12 Girls: Juliette Salazar (New York Starz TC) 
11-12 Boys: Nate Boutin (Prospect Park Youth RC) 
13-14 Girls: Ishil Kirkhan (TSC TC of New York)
13-14 Boys: Itamar Pres (Chelsea Greyhounds) 
15-16 Girls: London Claxton (Westchester Striders TFC 
15-16 Boys: Tobias Wolfson (MHC TC) 
17-18 Girls: Lillian Horan (unattached)
17-18 Boys: Terell Seraphin (Hall’s Express)
High School Girls: Katelyn Tuohy North (Rockland HS) 
High School Boys: Ryan Tierney (The Camp / St. Peters HS) 
Girls Overall - Field Events: Codi-Ann Reid (Team Dynasty)
Boys  Overall - Field Events: Jakob Morrissey (Eclipse T&F) 
Girls  Overall - Track Events: Alissa Graham (Club44)
Boys  Overall - Track Events: Christian Walker (Metro Eagles TFC) 
8 & Under Girls: Brianna Burrell (Velocity TC New York) 
8 & Under Boys: Giordano Simpson (New York Starz TC)
9-10 Girls: Princess Golden New York Starz TC) 
9-10 Boys: Tamrat Gavenas (Prospect Park Youth RC) 
11-12 Girls: Dakota Barnes (In Motion) 
11-12 Boys: Wesley Noble, Jr. (Metro Eagles TF Club) 
13-14 Girls: Brianna Brown (Team Dynasty) 
13-14 Boys: Joseph Morone (Chelsea Greyhounds)
15-16 Girls: Brianna White (Chelsea Greyhounds) 
15-16 Boys: Miguel Negrete (Notre Dame TC) 
17-18 Girls: Louise Jones (Rock City Striders) 
17-18 Boys: Tai Brown (Ruff Kutz) 
High School Girls: Alexandra Harris (North Rockland HS) 
High School Boys: Carlon Hosten (V-Tesse TC / Taft Education HS)
Receiving the prestigious President’s Awards for their dedicated service to USATF New York and the sport will be Dorothy Clinton (The Camp), Adena Long (NYC Parks & Recreation) and Bassett Thompson (NY Armory)
Each year three awards are presented to officials who have served the sport and their communities at the highest level in recent years.  The awards are named after three of the local pioneers in the officials committee - Jake Korn, Warren Ring, and Louis Vazquez, Jr. - all of whom will be are being inducted posthumously into the Hall of Fame on March 18.  Winning the awards this year are Jannie Rosado (Jake Korn Officials Committee Service Award), Sandra Edwards (Warren Ring Officials Committee Lifetime Achievement Award), and Seth Okrend (Louis Vazquez, Jr. Officials Committee Humanitarian Award).
The recipient of this year’s Coaching Lifetime Award is John Alston (Club44).

The recipient of the Media Contributor award is Nancy Haggerty who writes for the The Journal News in White Plains.
Ticket and information about supporting the event can be found here.